Traditionally, ghee is a form of butter and it’s usually made from cow’s milk. It’s found in a lot of dishes, especially those originating in Asia and Africa. Though it contains less lactose than butter, standard ghee is not dairy free. However, that is not to say that those who are dairy free or vegan need to miss out. At Muya, we have developed a completely vegan ghee.
Our vegan ghee is made from vegetable oils and it has been infused with a unique blend of spices, giving it a full and bold flavour. It’s certainly not short on aromatic flavours. We have worked hard to create a vegan ghee that is just as good as other ghee, and it’s really paid off. It’s an ingredient you can use in a variety of ways and there are very few dishes it won’t improve.
How to Use Vegan Ghee in Your Cooking
Though you may have heard of ghee before, you may not know the ins and outs of how it’s used in cooking. Ghee is a key part of Ethiopian cuisine and it’s regularly used in traditional dishes, often as a substitute for butter or in place of cooking oil. It can be used for stir frying, roasting and sauteing. You can also add vegan ghee to stews, vegetables, rice and sauces. In fact, a lot of people enjoy ghee spread on warm toast in place of regular butter. When we say that ghee is versatile, we really do mean it.
Vegan Ghee at Muya Ethiopian Kitchen
t Muya, we have a wide range of high-quality and traditional Ethiopian products for you to enjoy. This includes our infused vegan ghee, also known as niter kibbeh. Our infused vegan ghee is ideal for vegans and those who follow a dairy-free diet, as it’s completely plant-based.
At Muya, we understand that veganism and a dairy-free lifestyle can mean missing out on some of your favorite foods. However, it doesn’t need to hold you back from enjoying Ethiopian cuisine. This is why we have worked hard to ensure our infused vegan ghee is just as delicious and versatile as other types of ghee. To find out more about any of our Ethiopian foods and products, get in touch with the Muya team.